PRA chair set to stay on board

THE man who heads up the representative body that speaks for fuel dealers and forecourt businesses has committed to continuing in the role.

Brian Madderson has agreed to continue as chairman of the Petrol Retailers Association (PRA), following a meeting with the PRA executive committee.

Briaxn Madderson used in July 2013

The group has been especially active in recent years, a period that has been very challenging for independent fuel dealers, many of whom have come under huge price pressure from supermarkets and have had to deal with steeply fluctuating fuel prices, consumer petrol price protests, threats to supply, varying tax and duty policies by government and more.

But Madderson reckons the association has responded to the challenges.

“Since 2010, the PRA has retained 90% of the top 50 independent petrol retailers in membership, with sites totalling over 3,000,” he said.

“Regional committees have been established in both Northern Ireland and Scotland, and we have formed positive relations with key government officials and politicians in all four home countries.

“I look forward to recruiting more independent petrol retailers across the UK in the months ahead, and continuing to work closely with my colleagues in growing the PRA.”

Madderson will also continue his role as an executive board director at the Retail Motor Industry Federation (RMI) for a further three years.

• The Co-operative Group has appointed two independent non-executive directors.

Peter Plumb, chief executive of PLC and Stevie Spring, chair of the ITG Group and BBC’s Children in Need, and former chief executive of magazine and digital publisher, Future PLC, joined the board in late June.

The Co-operative Group’s independent non-executive chair, Allan Leighton, said: “These appointments will further strengthen our board, ensuring our members have a diverse and talented group of directors capable of leading the rebuild of this great British institution.”