Scottish Grocer Awards 2017

2017’s stars of convenience retail were celebrated with an evening
that pulled out all the stops

The cream of the retail crop gathered at the Hilton Hotel in Glasgow last month to celebrate convenience retailing in Scotland, recognising and rewarding the year’s star performers at the biggest night in the industry’s calendar – The Scottish Grocer Awards 2017.

The Glasgow Hilton’s grand ballroom was rocked by laughter as Scotland’s own ‘kilty pleasure’ Craig Hill brought his unique act to the stage, before going on to present the prizes of the evening’s other big stars, the winners of the Awards.

As the event toasted its 21st birthday, the annual showcase of the best in innovative, community-based, responsible retailing proved once again to be worthy of its tag as the industry’s Oscars.

There was plenty of innovation and hard work to celebrate with awards in categories that covered everything from everyday essentials like bakery and dairy goods to soft drinks, chilled foods, Post Office retailing, confectionery retailing, licensed retailing and many more.

And the formal part of the event was brought to a close with individual awards for employee of the year, the entrepreneur award and a very special award for industry achievement.

Proceedings were hosted by comedian Craig Hill, who not only entertained the audience with a hilarious routine but also welcomed each award winner to the stage with warmth and enthusiasm.

And, following the presentations, the guests were treated to an entertaining set by George Michael impersonator Rob Lamberti, with revellers taking to the dancefloor for hit after hit.

Scottish Grocer Awards 2017 Winners and Highly Commended finalists

Dairy Award – Managed Store

Winner: Scotmid Balerno, Edinburgh

Highly Commended: Spar Tarves, Edinburgh

Dairy Award – Independent Store

Winner: Spar Renfrew

Highly Commended: Premier Cranhill Convenience Store

Bakery Retailer of the Year – Managed Store

Winner: Scotmid Stockbridge, Edinburgh

Highly Commended: Spar Dalrymple

Bakery Retailer of the Year – Independent Store

Winner: Giacopazzi’s, Sands House Kinross

Highly Commended: Nisa Local Greens of Markinch, Fife

Tobacco Accessories Retailer of the Year

Winner: Family Shopper, Motherwell

Highly Commended: Cults Stores (KeyStore), Aberdeen; Linktown Local, Kirkcaldy

Best New Store Award

Winner: Ardeer Services, Stevenston

Highly Commended: Giacopazzi’s, Sands House Kinross; Scotmid, Broxburn

Innovation Award

Winner: Giacopazzi’s, Sands House Kinross

Highly Commended: Ardeer Services, Stevenston; McLeish, Inverurie

Post Office Retailer of the Year

Winner: St Georges Post Office and Spar Maryhill

Highly Commended: Camelon Post Office and Spar, Falkirk; Biggar Post Office, Biggar

Forecourt Retailer of the Year

Winner: Spar Euro Garages Lomondgate

Highly Commended: Earlston Co-op, Berwickshire; JET Maybole, Ayrshire

Confectionery Retailer of the Year

Winner: Barassie Day-Today, Troon

Highly Commended: Cults Stores (KeyStore), Aberdeen; Lifestyle Express Rutherglen

Best Soft Drinks Outlet of the Year

Winner: Londis Solo Convenience, Baillieston

Highly Commended: Clydebank Co-operative Kilbowie KeyStore, Edinburgh; McLeish, Inverurie

Licensed Retailer of the Year

Winner: Maxwells, Pollokshield

Highly Commended: Day-Today@Jamil’s, Renfrew; Giacopazzi’s, New Road Milnathort

Beer and Cider Retailer of the Year

Winner: Maxwells, Clarkston

Highly Commended: Day-Today@Jamil’s, Renfrew; One Stop Stoneyburn, West Lothian

Responsible Retailer of the Year

Winner: Day-Today Lochside, Ayr

Highly Commended: Day-Today Maryhill, Edinburgh; Premier Mo’s Convenience Store, Blantyre

Independent Retailer of the Year

Winner: Family Shopper, Blantyre

Highly Commended: Spar JET Maybole, Ayrshire; Nisa Local Pinkie Farm Convenience Store, Musselburgh

Community Champion Award

Winner: Smeaton Stores, Kirkcaldy

Highly Commended: Uig Community Shop, Isle of Lewis; Best-One@Brownlies, Biggar

Tobacco Retailer of the Year

Winner: Pricekracker, Dundee

Highly Commended: Pricekracker, Alyth; Day-Today@Jamil’s, Renfrew

Chilled Retailer of the Year

Winner: MacLennans, Isle of Benbecula

Highly Commended: Nisa Local Pinkie Farm Convenience Store, Musselburgh; Scotmid Balerno, Edinburgh

Employee of the Year

Winner: Joan Clark, Cranhill Convenience Store

Highly Commended: Heather Jamieson, Best-One@Brownlies, Biggar; Carol McClurkin, Day-Today Lochside, Ayr

The Entrepreneur Award

Winner: Harris Aslam, Eros Retail

Industry Achievement Award

Winner: Simon Hannah, J W Filshill